Databending in Audacity

AvidemuxEdit_echo.png

What is Databending?

Databending (or data bending) is the process of manipulating a media file of a certain format, using software designed to edit files of another format. Distortions in the medium typically occur as a result, and the process is frequently employed in glitch art. (Wikipedia)

... (it is) derived from circuit bending, in which objects such as children's toys, effects pedals and electronic keyboards are deliberately short circuited by bending the circuit board to produce erratic and spontaneous sounds. Like circuit bending, databending involves the (often unpredictable) alteration of its target's behavior. Databending achieves this alteration by manipulating the information within a media file of a certain format, using software designed to edit files of a different format; distortions in the medium typically occur as a result. (Wikipedia)

Examples:

Audacity

We'll be using Audacity to databend images today.

Use Audacity version 3.0 or lower. Audacity 4 will not work!

Audacity Interface

Screenshot 2026-09-27 at 16.37.43.png

Databending Instructions

Step 1: Convert your image to .BMP format

You can start with any image format, but higher quality images produce higher quality results!

  1. Open the image in Preview
  2. File > Export to export the image
  3. In the Exporter, navigate to Format
  4. Hold down the option key on your keyboard as you open the Format drop-down menu
  5. Select Microsoft BMP
  6. Save your image

Step 2: Import the .BMP to Audacity as raw data

  1. Open Audacity
  2. File > Import > Raw Data...
  3. Open the .BMP file you just converted
  4. Import settings:
    • Encoding: A-Law, U-Law, OR 16-bit PCM
    • Channels: Mono
    • Sample rate: 44.1kHz

Different import settings produce different glitch structures!

Step 3: Databending begins!

You should now see the image appear as a waveform in audacity! If you don't, try the previous steps again otherwise the next steps won't work.

Critical note about file types!

All files types have bits of information called "headers" that specifies what the file is and how the computer should build the file when it opens. Without a header, a file cannot open and is essentially corrupted.

To avoid corruption:

  • Always leave the first little bit of a waveform unselected when applying Effects.
  1. Click & drag over the waveform to select a section of the track. Leaving a small portion at the start that is the header unselected!
  2. Navigate to Effectin the menu bar
  3. Choose Echo...
  4. Echo settings:
    • Delay time: 5
    • Decay factor: 0.5

You should see the selected part of your waveform change when you apply the effect. Now you're ready to export!

Step 4: Export back to .BMP!

  1. Navigate File > Export > Export Audio...
  2. Export settings:
    • Save As: Relabel .raw to .bmp + change the file name (Ex. Image1.raw --> Image1_Echo.bmp)
    • Location: Same folder as your original image
    • File type: Other uncompressed files
    • Format options > RAW (Headerless)
    • Format options > Encoding: A-Law, U-Law, OR 16-bit PCM Pick the same encoding format that you imported with
  3. Save the image

Now go to the file browser and open the newly saved .BMP in Preview to view the effects.

Step 5: Repeat with other effects!

Now that you have the hang of things, repeat the process with other effects. Below are some examples of different effects you can try.

Selectively applying + compounding effects:

DataBending in Audacity.light.png

Databending Video

Largely the same as the image-based processing, except for the steps to convert and import your video file to Audacity.

Video databending tips:

Audacity Import Settings for RAW .AVI video:

Options to convert your video to a RAW format:

Resources

See Also